Conservation areas

What is a conservation area?

A conservation area is defined as an "area of special architectural or historic interest, the character of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance". It is the quality and interest of the area, rather than the individual buildings which is of primary interest when designating a conservation area. There are 26 designated conservation areas within the borough, which cover more than 2000 properties. These include historic town centres, village greens, a philanthropic retirement village, a 1920s motor racing circuit and river navigation channels. Additional information about conservation areas can be found on the Historic England website.

Most planning applications within a conservation area will require an accompanying Heritage Statement.  Read the advice on producing Heritage Statements

Find out if your property is in a conservation area  

Location of conservation areas 

Select from the areas below to access our conservation maps, and where available character appraisal documents and designation statements. 

Conservation area advisory committees

The importance of consulting with representatives of the local community is highlighted in the National Planning Policy Framework. The borough of Elmbridge is particularly fortunate in having 9 conservation area advisory committees covering 18 of its conservation areas.

More about conservation area advisory committees.

Related guidance

Services by A-Z