European Parliamentary election

European Parliamentary election on Thursday 23 May 2019

The next European Parliamentary election will be held across Europe from 22-26 May 2019.  In the UK, polling day will be Thursday 23 May.

The poll and declaration of the results for the South East of England is administered by the Regional Returning Officer, Mark Heath.

Key dates and official notices for 23 May European election

Note: official notices will be uploaded once key date has been reached.

Official notices and deadlines

Date and time 

Notice of election

Monday 15 April

Statement of parties and individual candidates nominated,
 including notice of poll

Notice of election agents
Situation of polling stations

At 5pm on Thursday 25 April (if no objections)
 Registration deadline   Midnight on Tuesday 7 May
 Postal voting deadline   5pm on Wednesday 8 May
 Proxy voting deadline   5pm on Wednesday 15 May
 First day to replace lost postal votes   Friday 17 May
 Polling day   7am to 10pm on Thursday 23 May
 Counting of votes  Sunday 26 May

Candidates and agents

The nomination of candidates is administered by the Regional Returning Officer, Mark Heath.

Register to vote

The deadline to register to vote in the 23 May elections has now passed.  If you are unsure whether you are registered contact Electoral Services.

Every registered voter will be sent a poll card with information about the election including your polling station. If you have not received a poll card, or you have recently moved, you may not be registered to vote.

Who can vote

To vote at these elections, you must be aged 18 or over on election day and be a British, Irish, Commonwealth or European Union citizen who has completed a UC1 form. Your name must appear on the Register of Electors before you can vote.

European Union citizens 'EC6' forms

If you are a citizen of one of the European Union (EU) countries listed below, you can register to vote in the UK at a European Parliamentary election by completing a EC6 form.  The deadline for returning the form has now passed.  If you have not completed the form, you will not be eligible to vote in the UK on 23 May.

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.

If you are a citizen of the UK, Republic of Ireland, Malta or Cyprus, you are eligible to register to vote at all UK elections and so do not need to complete the form.

You cannot vote at the European Parliamentary elections in more than one country. 

Different ways to vote

There are three ways to vote. You can vote by post, by using a proxy voter or in person at a polling station.

Voting by post

The deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes has now passed.

Voting by proxy

The deadline to apply to vote by proxy has now passed.

If after 5pm on 15 May 2019 you are unable to vote because you have a medical emergency, or learn you cannot go to the polling station because of work reasons, you can apply to vote by emergency proxy.

More information about voting by proxy, including an application form.    

Voting in person at a polling station

If you are registered to vote, a poll card will be sent to you with further information about the election, including a map of your polling station. You do not need to take the poll card with you to vote.  Please check where your polling station is located as it may have changed since you last voted.

Polling stations are open between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 23 May.

How to vote  

Always read the instructions on how to complete the ballot paper carefully, even if you have voted before. The ballot paper lists the name of each of the parties and candidates along with their party logo (if any).

In the UK you have one vote to elect all of your MEPs.  Each party puts forward a list of candidates called a 'party list' and you vote for one of these lists or for an independent candidate.  Simply put a X (a cross) next to your choice.

More information is available at Your Vote Matters

Who is elected

MEPs are elected under a proportional representation system (d'Hondt).

10 MEPS will be elected for the South East of England Region.


The election count will take place on Sunday 26 May. The results are expected by the evening and will be publicised at Election Results.  Press and candidates may confirm details of the count venue by contacting Electoral Services directly.

Any press enquiries should be directed to  

More information

Services by A-Z