Boundary review

Parliamentary Boundary Review 2023

Following the passing of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2020, and the publication of the relevant Parliamentary electorate data in January 2021, the Boundary Commission for England began a new review of all Parliamentary constituencies in England.  They are required to report final recommendations by 1 July 2023.

Key dates

  • 8 June 2021 - publication of initial proposals and conduct eight week written consultation
  • Early 2022 - publish responses to initial proposals and conduct six week 'secondary consultation' including between two and five public hearings in each region
  • Late 2022 - publish revised proposals and conduct four week written consultation
  • June 2023 - submit and publish final report and recommendations 

Electoral review for Elmbridge 2016

Following the Council's request to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England to undertake an Electoral Review for Elmbridge, the Commission published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Elmbridge Borough Council. The Commission's final recommendations are that Elmbridge be represented by 48 councillors: twelve fewer than the previous arrangement. Those councillors will represent sixteen three-member wards across the Borough, delivering electoral equality for voters across the Borough. The Commission's publication followed an eight-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each Council ward across Elmbridge. The new electoral arrangements were implemented at the local elections on 5 May 2016.

Further details in respect of the final recommendations can be seen on the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's website.


Services by A-Z