Elmbridge Borough Council and Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner elections

Elmbridge Borough Council and Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner elections on Thursday 7 May 2020

The UK Government has postponed the elections scheduled for 7 May 2020 due to the current and emerging situation around COVID-19. The Electoral Commission are updating their website as quickly as possible. Please bear in mind that some election information will be out of date.

The next elections to Elmbridge Borough Council will take place on Thursday 7 May.  These will be combined with the election of the Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner.

Key dates and official notices

Note: official notices will be uploaded once key date has been reached.

Official notices and deadlines

Date and time 

 Notice of election

 25 March

 Statement of persons nominated

 By 4pm on 9 April
 Registration deadline   Midnight on 21 April
 Postal voting deadline   5pm on 22 April
 Proxy voting deadline   5pm on 29 April
 First day to replace lost postal votes    1 May
 Polling day   7am to 10pm on 7 May
 Counting of votes 

Saturday 9 May - Elmbridge Borough Council

Monday 11 May - Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner

Candidates and agents

Nomination packs for the Elmbridge Borough Council elections will be available from 2 March.  The delivery of nomination papers will take place on any working day from 26 March, between 9am and 5pm, until 4pm on 8 April.

A briefing for election agents or candidates who are acting as their own agent will take place at the Civic Centre in Esher on 3 March at 6pm.

Please email electoral@elmbridge.gov.uk for any candidate enquiries.

Candidates enquiries relating to the election of the Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner should be made to the Reigate and Banstead Police Area Returning Officer.

Guidance for Borough council candidates

Find out more information about the candidates standing for the Police and Crime Commissioner.

Register to vote

The deadline to register to vote in the 7 May elections is midnight on Tuesday 21 April.  You can register to vote online or contact  Electoral Services to request a paper form.  To vote on 7 May, you must be registered to vote.  If you are unsure whether you are registered contact Electoral Services.

Every registered voter will be sent a poll card at the end of March with information about the election including your polling station. If you have not received a poll card, or you have recently moved, you may not be registered to vote.

Who can vote

To vote at these elections, you must be aged 18 or over on election day and be a British, Irish, Commonwealth or European Union citizen. Your name must appear on the Register of Electors before you can vote. 

Different ways to vote

There are three ways to vote. You can vote by post, by using a proxy voter or in person at a polling station.

Voting by post

The deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm on Wednesday 22 April.  Voters with existing postal voting applications in place will be sent a postal poll card with information about the elections.

Dispatch dates of postal votes will be confirmed in due course.  If you have not received your postal vote by 1 May, call 01372 474474 to arrange a replacement.

More information about voting by post including an application form.

Voting by proxy

If you cannot go to the polling station on 7 May you can apply to vote by proxy before 5pm on Wednesday 29 April.  This means appointing someone else to vote on your behalf at your polling station, unless they apply to vote by post as a proxy before 5pm on 22 April.

More information about voting by proxy, including an application form.    

Voting in person at a polling station

If you are registered to vote, a poll card will be sent to you with further information about the election, including a map of your polling station. You do not need to take the poll card with you to vote.  Please check where your polling station is located as it may have changed since you last voted.            

Polling station venues will be uploaded in due course.

Polling stations are open between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 7 May 2020.

How to vote  

You will be given two ballot papers, one for the Elmbridge Borough Council election and one for the Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner election.  Always read the instructions on how to complete the ballot papers carefully, even if you have voted before. The ballot papers list the name of each of the candidates along with their party logo (if any).

On the Elmbridge Borough Council (salmon colour) ballot paper, simply put a cross (X) next to the candidate of your choice.

On the Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner (white colour) ballot paper there will be two columns next to the list of candidates.  Voters will be asked to vote for their first choice candidate by marking a cross (X) in the first choice column and vote for their second choice candidate by marking a cross (X) in the second choice column.

More information is available at Your Vote Matters

Who is elected

One Borough Councillor will be elected in each of the 16 wards in Elmbridge.  The votes will be counted using the 'first past the post' system.

One Police and Crime Commissioner will be elected for the Surrey police force area.  The supplementary vote system means that voters will be asked to select their first and second preferences for the PCC.  If no candidate gets at least 50% of the vote in the first count, second preferences will also be counted.


The election count for the Elmbridge Borough Council elections will take place from 9.30am on Saturday 9 May.  The election count for the Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner election will take place from 9.30am on Monday 11 May. The results will be publicised at Elmbridge election results

Press and candidates may confirm details of the count venue by contacting Electoral Services directly.

Any press enquiries should be directed to communications@elmbridge.gov.uk.  

More information

Services by A-Z