Elmbridge Councillors

The names of all our Councillors and the Wards they represent can be found by using My Neighbourhood:

Searching for your local Councillor by your postcode

Or find local Councillors by:

Each Councillor (Member) has the facility to set up a personal web page - these can be reached from their individual pages above.

Elmbridge Borough Council comprises 48 elected Councillors, representing 16 Wards across the Borough. Councillors are elected to serve a 4 year term with elections covering 1/3rd of the seats taking place every year, except 1 in 4, when County Council elections are held.

The current political breakdown is:

  • Conservative Group 21

  • Residents' Associations Group 16*

  • Liberal Democrats Group 8

  • Hinchley Wood Residents' Association Group 2

  • Ungrouped Member 1

The Residents' Associations Group and Liberal Democrat Group form the administration.

(* The Residents' Associations Group is made up of the Molesey Residents' Association, Weybridge & St. George's Hill Independents, the Walton Society and the Thames Ditton & Weston Green Residents Association.)

Group Leaders

Each Political Group appoints a leader, known as the [party or group] Group Leader.

The Group Leaders and Deputies are as follows:


Councillor Tim Oliver, Group Leader

Councillor James Browne (Deputy)

Liberal Democrats:

Councillor Andrew Davis, Group Leader

Councillor Barry Fairbank (Deputy)

Residents' Associations:

Councillor Stuart Selleck, Group Leader

Councillor Chris Sadler (Deputy)

Hinchley Wood Residents' Association:

Councillor Mrs. Janet Turner, Group Leader

Councillor Nigel Haig-Brown (Deputy)

How to Contact Members of the Council

Each Member of the Council provides information on the preferred methods of contact, in order to undertake their role as an elected Member effectively. For example, some Councillors choose to hold Member Surgeries. Such details are available on Individual Member webpages.

Councillors' Role

Councillors are elected by the residents of a ward to represent them. All wards in Elmbridge elect either 2 or 3 Councillors, who represent the ward equally. Councillors are different from officers, who are paid employees of the Council. If you have a problem, you may want to contact your local ward councillor to raise the issue. You can do this even if your local Councillor represents a political group that you don't support.

For some issues, there may be other Councillors who can help, as well as your ward Councillors. For example, you may want to contact the Cabinet Portfolio Holder who is responsible for that area. Or if you have strong views on an issue that is due to be considered by a Committee, you could contact members of that Committee and let them know your views.

Although Councillors represents you and your area, they are elected to take decisions for the Borough as a whole. They are also subject to legal and policy constraints on their actions. For example, any planning decisions they take have to be based on planning law. This means that sometimes they have to take decisions which some residents disagree with.

Councillors' Terms of Office

Councillors serve four year terms of office (unless elected at a by-election). In a four year cycle, there are three years in which 20 Borough Councillors are elected each year, and one year in which no Borough Councillors are elected, but elections for Surrey County Council Councillors take place.

Councillors' Allowances

Elected councillors are entitled to claim an allowance in recognition of the time they give up to be on the Council, which also covers expenses such as IT costs, stationery etc. This helps to ensure that people who might not otherwise be able to afford to be a Councillor can do so. Details are published online.

Standing as a Councillor

Are you interested in representing local people and taking decisions that affect the local community? Why not take a look at our webpage Becoming a Councillor.

Services by A-Z