Conservation Area Advisory Committees

The importance of consulting with representatives of the local community is highlighted in the National Planning Policy Framework. The Borough of Elmbridge is particularly fortunate in having 9 Conservation Area Advisory Committees covering 17 of its 26 Conservation Areas. These comprise of unpaid volunteers from the community who meet on a regular basis to provide the Council with feedback relating to planning applications within the relevant Conservation Areas. They also have a broader remit to initiate, suggest and advise on possible enhancement schemes and to help in formulating policies for the preservation and improvement of conservation areas.

Members of the Committees are appointed by the Council and operate within an agreed constitution. Read the constitution procedures for more information.

Anyone interested in joining their local Committee should contact the relevant Chairman/Coordinator below in the first instance. Download the nomination form.

List of CAAC Contact Details


Acting Chairman/Secretary: Mr K Huddart - 01372 462578

Cobham and The Tilt

Convenor: Dr David Taylor - 01932 863128

Downside and Plough Corner

Convenor: Mr Karl Penn - 07533 409009

East Molesey

Convenor: Mr Peter Banting - 020 8979 1715

Esher and Lakeside Drive

Chairman: Mr M Phillips - 01372 467720

Thames Ditton

Chairman: Mr P Hickman - 020 8339 0931

Walton on Thames

Chairman: Mr David Bellchamber - 01932 866770

West End

Chairman/Secretary: Mr Martin Reeve - email:

Weston Green

Chairman: Mr Alan Oakley - 020 8398 3168


Services by A-Z